Feather Stitch or Chained Double Stitch

Feather Stitch or Chain Stitch – Double

DSC_0004

In Sharon B’s Stitch directory the above stitch is called Closed Feather Stitch.  I also found this stitch in “A to Z of Embroidery Stitches 2” book on page42, called Chain Stitch – Double.  What ever you want to call this stitch, I enjoyed sewing this stitch.

DSC_0005

Again in the A to Z book on page 48, I found the Chained Feather Stitch. As I was  stitching this stitch, I tried to think how to embellish the stitch.  Could not come up with a way to embellish so I decided to rip it out and I changed the closed end of the stitch to an open end, also gave the thread a twist.  The above picture is what I ended up with. I can see lots of embellishing possibilities now.

DSC_0006Now I will probably surprise myself with what else I do to this block.  I know alot of people work from a plan but I am not structured enough to do that. I just pick up my blocks and sew. I keep sewing till it looks good to me.

8 thoughts on “Feather Stitch or Chained Double Stitch

  1. I do like krazy patching and like you I don’t plan ahead for something like that just go with the flow! Yours is turning out beautifully!
    Which embroidery machine do you have? I bought a little Brother mostly to make the labels for quilts, it will do much more I need to take a couple of classes!

Leave a Reply

