Posted in TODAY

REVERSE APPLIQUE MY WAY Part 1

A few days ago I was talking with Helen of Helen’s Patchwork Passion about a quilt we are both sewing.DSCN2310

Dutch Treat, if you sew all the blocks, has 196 – 4 inch blocks, sewn using reverse applique. I am blowing up the design by 25% to make it a 5 inch square.  4 inch is too tiny for my hands.  We discussed the different reverse applique techniques we used.   My technique uses glue.  This is how it is done using glue.

Step 1.  I cut a 6 inch square from the background fabric,  the foreground fabric, and  a product called polyfuse made by Matildas Own.

DSCN2265

DSCN2263

Step 2 .  Copy the pattern onto the polyfuse.  This is my version of a light box,  my glass end table and my lamp.

DSCN2270

Step 3.  Cut out the areas that need to show up on the background fabric.

DSCN2272DSCN2275

Step 4. Carefully peal off the backing paper of the polyfuse.

DSCN2277

Step 5.  Place the glue side of the polyfuse on the BACK side of the foreground fabric.DSCN2278

Stay tuned for Part 2

Part 2  Here..

Slow Sunday StitchingLinking up with  Slow Sunday Stitching on Kathy’s Quilts blog

This is one of the blocks from Dutch Treat.  I only have about 1/3 sewn. It really is slow stitching.

DSCN2313

Happy Sewing Hugs,

Kathleen Mary

 

 

 

Author:

Married to Peter. A wonderful marriage blessed by God. Three lovely children. Five incredible grandchildren.

12 thoughts on “REVERSE APPLIQUE MY WAY Part 1

  1. This is so, so beautiful and time consuming. I just saw one of these in real life, and I’m impressed. I may want to do this one when I’ve finished my La Passion. Good luck with the rest.

Leave a Reply

