FEELING BETTER

After about three weeks on illness with no energy, I am finally on the mend.  Yippee.  I am so over not sewing.

I remember when I started to put together the first block on the caswell quilt, I used the glue technique. I must have been terribly tired.  I used so much glue when I tried to wash out the glue today, it would not soak out.  So I started over.  I feel better now and there are only little dots of glue on the material.  Looks nicer and I am much happier with the block.

Auditioning material for this block.

DSCN2373123

This center looks better in the picture than it does in real life.

DSCN2374

Does not do it for me either.

DSCN2373

This one makes the colors pop.

Slow Sunday Stitching   Linking up with  Slow Sunday Stitching on Kathy’s Quilts blog.

HAPPY SEWING

KATHLEEN MARY

15 thoughts on “FEELING BETTER

  1. I’m so glad you’re feeling better at last! I know it’s awful to be down day after day. This will be such a great block. I hope you are finding plenty of time to work on it.

  2. Good to hear you are feeling better…. onward and upward. Lovely block. I was just reading another blog who is doing the same quilt…
    Hugz

  3. I’m so glad you are feeling better! Beautiful work! I love the last one – and have learned the importance of auditioning fabrics! I’ve crocheted for many years and am learning to transfer my designing skills to fabric. Thank you for sharing!

  4. Gad you are feeling better! That new yellow is so much jbetter. Funny how a small change can make such a difference. What kind of glue to you use? I dab the backs of my applique pieces with elmers school glue stick (non acid and cheap). After I finish a block, I soak it in cool water which easily removes the glue and the blue marking pen. Your block is lovely! i made the caswell also.

  5. Glad you you feeling better. I was surprised by the difference in the first and last photos. I really liked the first, but you are right that the final result does make the fabrics stand out. Enjoy your return to sewing.

    • Thanks Cathie, This photo does not do justice to the flower. When I look at the top one in real life it does not match.
      Kathleen Mary

  6. I’m so glad you are feeling better! I’ve also been suffering from the same problem – so tired and lethargic I can’t do anything at all. But, with a stitching group catch up today I’m hopeful I will at least get something done.
    I agree with you on your colour choice – the bright colour really does add something to the piece, the others wash it out a bit. Have fun sewing again!

    • Thanks Catherine, I was just thinking about you, In fact I just wrote your a fb note. Is your job becoming too much? I know you are not well and you need to take care of yourself. Wish I lived closer. I would make you chicken soup.

      On Sun, Jul 10, 2016 at 5:28 PM, KATHY'S NEST wrote:

      >

Leave a Reply

